PDA

View Full Version : Prismacolor substitue?

Scentless Apprentice
07-30-2012, 07:11 PM
When it comes to my art I am at the stage where i'm developing my drawing and shading skills with different grey pencils and ink pens but I would also like to start experimenting with colored pencils. I've used a set of Prismacolors before and thought the quality was excellent. But as most people in the arts know, Prismacolors are quite expensive. I'm somewhat hesitant in buying more because of their price and since i'm just beginning in that meduim. I can't afford a $50.00 set just to experiment. So I was wondering if anyone here knew of any alternatives. Quality might not be as great but something more affordable for a novice. I also want to know what brands you personally use and recommend. Maybe I should start out with Crayola. All opinions welcome. Thanks in advance.

yuzukelly
07-30-2012, 09:27 PM
I have a Dick Blick set, and the lead is pretty soft. I like it for a few things, but sometimes it's just too soft for me :/ They're ok overall, though. I'd recommend these probably if you want "artsier" pencils than Crayola but cheap-ish XD Crayola isn't really THAT bad, even with crayons if you get used to a medium enough you can make something great. (C is certainly the best quality out of the childrens/school art class brands I think XD) If you just want to see if you like colored pencils at ALL, then I don't see what's wrong using Crayolas :) (In fact... I have a really cool metallic crayola... I want to get more because that pencil is AWESOME!!!)

http://www.dickblick.com/products/blick-studio-artists-colored-pencil-sets/

-