PDA

View Full Version : Atheism and Richard Dawkins

MissZombilicious
12-31-2012, 05:30 AM
I have been an atheist for a really long time but I wasn't "converted", I just listened carefully to what was being told in school: biology, physics and chemistry. I just believed that science was more reliable than a holy book written centuries ago. At university I studied one semester something called "The history of ideas" and there I finally got a better understanding of modern science, of evolution, of Einstein's and Hawking's theories and the history of religion. Actually, I think everyone should be taught these things already in highschool (at least in elements) so people could be able to form an own opinion. That's something that I'm missing these days, that children and young adults aren't allowed to chose themselves what to believe in, they get indoctrinated by their parents and therefore rarely question anything connected to religion.

I don't know if I want this thread to be about atheism or Richard Dawkins. By Dawkins I have so far only read "The God Delusion" but it impressed me a lot because he has a huge knowledge of the Bible and can basically answer almost all attacks by theologians with a rational reply. I agree with almost everything written in that book. I think I'm taking up his name because he is the most famous atheist and promoter of a secular society. And his arguments are scientific, something that gives them even more strength in my opinion.

So, do you think that Dawkins is right? Should all religion be abolished? Is God just an excuse? Is there a possibility for the existence of God? Is the Bible out-dated? I'd rather have a rational and calm discussion instead of people flaming each other.

me_andre
12-31-2012, 06:11 AM