Nav_image
Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image
Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image
Nav_image
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lucifer as a symbolic role model.

Default Lucifer as a symbolic role model.

This person does a good enough job of explaining something so I don't have to. And if you're stepping in here to troll, kindly find yourself a nice cactus to shove up your arsehole. It's okay to disagree - just don't disintegrate discussion into MansonUSA/Babalon-like stupidity.

"I've had a lot of experience with the Bible, having gone to religious schools until I attended a public University. That said, I've thought a lot about Lucifer and his role in Christian mythology, and he really gets a bad rap.

First of all, the visual depictions of the pointy-haired devilish demon creatures torturing humans were entirely the conceptions of artists and writers centuries ago, such as Dante.

Lucifer was an angel who disagreed with God. His only real crime was challenging God's authority and supposed omniscience. For this, he was cast out of heaven along with other angels who agreed with him.

If you read the Bible closely, Lucifer's only actual behavior is to influence people to think for themselves and challenge what God tells them to do. He reminds them that they are not slaves to God's demands, and that they have free will. Many of the mentions of "Satan" in the Bible talk about him 'behind his back" if you will, and are not actual appearances by Lucifer himself.

This FB post makes a very good point inasmuch as the Serpent in the Garden (as Lucifer) only pointed out to Eve that she had free will, and to eat the fruit would mean she would actually become aware of her surroundings in stead of being a mindless drone. Eve had a choice.