Nav_image
Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image
Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image Nav_image
Nav_image
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Color Theory in Marilyn Manson's Work

Hallelujah motherfuckers thatrussianman's Avatar

Default Color Theory in Marilyn Manson's Work

I'm sure this subject has been explored somewhere on this website, but as a visual artist, I find that exploring the artwork that accompanies Maryiln Manson's music to be supplemental to understanding the intention of each album. As a man truly obsessed with his image, MM is by no means a novice when it comes to the visual arts; everything he does concerning his look from his album covers to his logos has meaning and a purpose. I'm reviewing the albums in the order of which I think are the most interesting to talk about, not in the order of greatness.

What is Color Theory?

If you've taken any basic course on art, you've probably seen the color wheel before:

This basic color wheel shows the primary colors Red, Blue, and Yellow. It also shows secondary colors like Green, Purple, and Orange. What this wheel doesn't show is different levels of saturation, as you'll notice there are no blacks or shades of grey here. The most important thing to understand about colors is the way they complement each other. Complementary colors are literally colors that are opposite each other on the color wheel, such as red and green and blue and orange. Analogous colors are colors that are next to each other on the wheel.